Overview

The infrastructure side is where most developers start. Tavily gives 1,000 API credits a month with no credit card, which is enough to test a search step inside an agent. OpenRouter lists 25+ free models from 4 free providers behind one API, capped at 50 requests a day. Pinecone's free Starter plan holds 2 GB of vectors, with 2 million write units and 1 million read units a month and up to 5 indexes. Hugging Face hosts models, datasets and Spaces, and its CPU Basic Space (2 vCPU, 16 GB) costs nothing to run.

What to look for in a free AI tier

Coding tools and app builders measure usage in different units, so compare them with care. Bolt allows 300K tokens a day and 1M tokens a month on its free plan, and its websites carry Bolt branding. Base44 gives 25 message credits and 100 integration credits a month, with up to 5 apps. Amazon Q Developer allows 50 agentic requests a month in the IDE or CLI, plus 1,000 lines of code a month for Java upgrade transformations. A daily token cap can stop a long session in the middle, so check it before you start a large build.

Chatbots, presentation tools and writing assistants are the least numeric. Claude's free plan covers chat on web, desktop and mobile, web search, file creation and code execution. That suits drafting and review. Grammarly's free plan checks spelling and grammar and shows your writing tone. Presentation tools such as Gamma, Chronicle and SlidesGPT generate decks from a prompt, so read the deck and AI limits on each plan before you commit. Autohive sits between these groups: it offers unlimited seats, 350K credits and 1GB of storage, and starting needs no credit card.

Common gotchas in free AI plans

When you compare a free AI tier, read the unit first. Credits, tokens, requests and tool calls are not interchangeable, and a daily cap can matter more than the monthly one. Next, check which models the plan can reach. Last, check what you can keep: exports, branding, and whether a prototype can move to a paid plan without a rebuild. A free AI tier that answers those three questions is worth a proper trial.

10 free ai tools tiers compared

ProductTypeFree tier includesEst. valueCard required
TavilyFTV 54Free tier1,000 API credits per month.$4.00 / monthNo
ClaudeFTV 61Free tierAccess to Claude chat on the free plan, with usage limits.$12 / monthNo
BASE44FTV 57Free tier25 message credits per month.$8.00 / monthNo
Bolt.newFTV 56Free tier300K tokens daily limit.$25 / monthNot stated
OpenRouterFTV 52Free tier50 requests per day.$25 / monthNot stated
Hugging FaceFTV 59Free tierAccess to the HF Hub for exploring, experimenting, collaborating, and building ML…$9.00 / monthNo
PineconeFTV 49Free tierUp to 2 GB storage.$10 / monthNot stated
Amazon Q DeveloperFTV 47Free tierAccess to 50 agentic requests per month for Q&A chat and agentic coding in the IDE or CLI.$6.00 / monthNot stated
AutohiveFTV 61Free tierUnlimited seats for unlimited users.$12 / monthNo
GrammarlyFTV 49Free tierSee your writing tone.$3.00 / monthNo

Best free ai tools picks by use case

Best for: You need a search or extract API for an AI agent.

Tavily

1,000 API credits a month with no credit card, and the credits reset on the first day of each month.

Best for: You want to try many models through one API.

OpenRouter

25+ free models from 4 free providers, with chat and API access. The free rate limit is 50 requests a day.

Best for: You need a vector database for retrieval.

Pinecone

2 GB of storage, 2 million write units and 1 million read units a month, and up to 5 indexes on the Starter plan.

Best for: You want to build an app from a prompt.

Base44

25 message credits and 100 integration credits a month, up to 5 apps, with authentication, a database and analytics included.

Best for: You want an AI coding assistant in your IDE or terminal.

Amazon Q Developer

50 agentic requests a month for chat and coding in the IDE or CLI, plus 1,000 lines of code a month for Java upgrade transformations.

Frequently asked questions

What are the best free AI tools for developers?

Start with the job. Tavily (1,000 API credits a month) covers search for agents, OpenRouter (25+ free models, 50 requests a day) covers model access, Pinecone (2 GB of storage) covers vector search, and Amazon Q Developer (50 agentic requests a month) covers coding help. Each free plan is enough to test an idea, not to run a product.

What does an AI free tier usually include?

An AI free tier gives a monthly or daily allowance in credits, tokens or requests. Bolt allows 300K tokens a day and 1M a month. Base44 gives 25 message credits and 100 integration credits a month. The unit differs per vendor, so compare the allowance against the work you plan to do, not the headline number.

Are there free AI models and APIs without a credit card?

Yes. Tavily and Autohive both let you start without a credit card. OpenRouter has 25+ free models, but the free rate limit is 50 requests a day, so it suits testing more than production traffic.

Is Claude free to use?

Yes. Claude has a free plan that covers chat on web, desktop and mobile, web search, file creation and code execution. Usage is limited, so use it for drafting and review, and move to a paid plan for long working sessions.

Can I use a free AI tier for a real project?

For a prototype, yes. Bolt keeps Bolt branding on free websites, and Base44 limits a free account to 5 apps. A paid plan is the next step once you ship to users or need higher caps.

What is the catch with free AI coding tools?

The cap is the catch. Amazon Q Developer allows 50 agentic requests a month, and Bolt stops at 300K tokens a day. Test with a small task first to see how fast the allowance drops.

All entries

40 across 5 subcategories